Karla News

Tennessee Marijuana Laws and Penalties

Misdemeanor

Tennessee is an interesting state when it comes to marijuana as this state features quite harsh laws for possessing marijuana as well as growing and selling this plant. While many states in America have understood the benefits of marijuana for their sick residents as well as for tax purposes, Tennessee remains strong with its desire to keep this plant illegal. Below you will find all of the current Tennessee marijuana laws and penalties, which are active as of 2010.

Possession of Marijuana in Tennessee:

If you are caught with any amount of marijuana in Tennessee, you will be charged with a misdemeanor offense, which may require up to one year in prison and a maximum fine of $2,500. If this is your first misdemeanor conviction, you will be required to pay the maximum fine of $250; however a second misdemeanor conviction requires a fine of $500 while any subsequent convictions require a $1,000 fine.

Marijuana Cultivation in Tennessee:

Growing, or cultivating, 10 plants or less, with a final weight of ½ ounces to 10 pounds, is a felony offense in Tennessee. This offense requires a jail time of one to six years and a maximum fine of $5,000. If you are caught growing 10 to 19 plants, you will be charged with a felony offense, which carries a penalty of two to 12 years in prison and a maximum fine of $50,000. If you are caught growing 20 to 99 marijuana plants, you will be charged with a felony offense. This offense is punishable by three to 15 years in prison and a maximum fine of $100,000. If you are caught with 100 to 499 plants, you will be charged with a felony offense, which carries a penalty of eight to 30 years in jail and a maximum fine of $200,000. Lastly, if you are caught cultivating 500 or more marijuana plants, then you will be charged with a felony, which may require 15 to 60 years in prison and a maximum fine of $500,000.

See also  California Statutory Rape Laws

Marijuana Sale in Tennessee:

If you are caught selling ½ ounce to 10 pounds of marijuana, you will be charged with a felony offense, which may require one to six years in prison and a maximum fine of $5,000. Selling less than a ½ ounce of marijuana is considered possession, thus refer to the first section regarding marijuana possession for penalties. If you are caught selling 10 to 70 pounds of marijuana, then you will be charged with a felony offense, which may require up to two to 12 years in prison and a maximum fine of $5,000. Selling 70 to 300 pounds of marijuana is also a felony offense, which carries a penalty of eight to 30 years in prison and a fine of $200,000. Getting caught selling more than 300 pounds of marijuana is a serious offense in Tennessee, which is why it carries a jail time of 15 to 60 years in prison and a maximum fine of $500,000.