A hardship driver’s license is Missouri is also known as a limited driving privilege. A person often looks at getting a hardship driver’s license when their driving privilege has been suspended or revoked as a result of accumulating too many points or receiving a citation for driving while intoxicated. You are eligible to receive a hardship driver’s license when you cannot get your driving privilege reinstated but need to be able to drive for employment or other necessary reasons such as medical appointments.
There are several restrictions on who may receive a hardship driver’s license. You will not be issued a limited driving privilege if you have already received one in the last five years. You also are not eligible to receive a hardship driver’s license with certain criminal convictions, including a conviction for a felony involving the use of a motor vehicle, a state conviction for leaving the scene of a motor vehicle accident, a conviction for driving a motor vehicle under the influence of a controlled substance and having multiple convictions including alcohol or narcotic drugs. There are also time constraints- at least 30 days of suspension must have been served on a suspension resulting from a driving while intoxicated or excessive blood alcohol conviction, at least 90 days of suspension must have been served on a revocation resulting from refusal to submit to a drug or alcohol test, and at least 30 days of suspension must have been served on an administrative Department of Revenue suspension for driving with a blood alcohol content over the legal limit. If you have been revoked as a result of an administrative Department of Revenue revocation for driving with a blood alcohol content over the legal limit, then the entire period of revocation must be served before you may apply for a hardship driver’s license in Missouri. Additionally, you are not eligible for a hardship driver’s license in Missouri if you have two or more revocations for refusing a drug or alcohol test or a revocation to pass a driving or medical examination required by the Department of Revenue. Finally, you may not get a hardship driver’s license in Missouri if you have been suspended for an unsatisfied judgment for a motor vehicle accident or for an unpaid ticket in Missouri or another state until you have complied by either paying the judgment or ticket. There is no such thing in Missouri as a hardship commercial driver’s license or limited commercial driver’s privilege. If you previously had a commercial driver’s license, you will be issued a non-commercial limited driving privilege.
If you meet all of the above conditions, then you must submit proof of liability insurance to the Department of Revenue along with an Application for Limited Driving Privilege, Missouri Department of Revenue form DOR-4595. There is no filing fee associated with this application. Alternately, you may apply for a hardship driver’s license through the associate court in the county in which you live or work. To do so, you must contact your county Circuit Clerk’s office for the appropriate paperwork, which may vary from jurisdiction to jurisdiction. If you petition through your county court, you must pay a filing fee and court costs and make at least one court appearance.